RSS

Fruitful Summer 2016 – Day 16

29 Jun
Fruitful Summer 2016 – Day 16

Sunshine!

Another very important part of growing flowers, vegetables, and other plants is sunshine. Different varieties of flowers, plants or vegetables require differing amounts of sunlight. Although having less than two hours of direct sunlight makes it hard to grow most plants, some do well with 2-4 hours, 4-6 hours, and more than 6 hours of sunlight. Hearty plants such as corn, tomatoes, beans, peas, squash, melons, basil, potatoes, cucumbers and culinary herbs do very well with long hours of sunlight. Cruciferous vegetables (cabbage, broccoli, kale, cauliflower, etc.) do very well with 4-6 hours of sunshine. With 2-4 hours of direct sunshine you will do well to grow greens (lettuce, arugula, Swiss chard, etc.) and root vegetables (carrots, beets, radishes).

To be the most fruitful person you can be you need sunshine in your life. The more hours of sunshine you have per day the better for your personal growth. I am not referring to actual sunlight. I am talking about the things in your life that bring you happiness. Sometimes, they are the simple pleasures that mean the most.

As adults we can get overwhelmed with the monotonous routine of our day in day out. The stresses of bill paying, work, taking care of our families and all that comes with being an adult act as shade to our sunshine.

You do not need to count the actual hours of sunshine in your life, rather take them in as they come and bask in the warmth and light! What brings the most sunshine to your life? I know everyone has different happy triggers. I will share some of mine with you. Listening to music, playing the piano, spending time with my children, being outside on a nice cool morning, writing, cooking and baking, making other people happy, taking baths, drinking coffee, massages, manis and pedis, reading books… to name a few.

Quite a number of years ago I started a “Sunshine folder”. When I get card or letters from friends I put them in my Sunshine folder. When I come across a saying that is especially uplifting I put it in my Sunshine folder. Another great thing to do is write a “Sunshine List” at the end of every day. Write out the things that bring sunshine into your world on a daily basis. Just the act of writing these things down will bring MORE sunshine into your life. I have found that by actively acknowledging the sunshine in my life, I look for more sunshine for my life.

Today’s Challenge: Think about the things that bring sunshine into your life. At the end of this day write down what brought sunshine into the garden of your life TODAY.

“Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves”. ~ James Matthew Barrie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Fruitful Summer 2016 – Day 16

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    June 30, 2016 at 7:41 am

    I just realized I’ve allowed myself to neglect my gratitude journal!! I see it every day, but I let it slip down my priority list – so glad you wrote this – great trigger for me!!

     
  2. ortsofsorts

    June 30, 2016 at 12:00 pm

    I had been neglecting mine as well! I’m so glad that this gave you a reminder!

     

Leave a Reply

 
