RSS

Pressure Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

18 Jun
Pressure Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

Since Christmas I have been using my electric pressure cooker at least once a week. It is a wonderful addition to my kitchen tools. It cooks meat so fast, even frozen chicken breasts. It’s also great with dried beans; cutting the cooking time by hours!

I had a busy day today and realized at about 3 this afternoon that I had forgotten to take anything out of the freezer for dinner. I found this recipe (I’ve adapted it to my family’s tastes and to my pressure cooker) and gave it a try.

Pressure Cooker Teriyaki Chicken

  • 1/2 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce (or to taste)
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 pounds frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts (if thawed, reduce cooking time)
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • Green onions, chopped, as garnish
  • Sesame seeds, as garnish

Spray inside of electric pressure cooker with non-stick cooking spray. Turn pressure cooker on to high and add sesame oil and chicken breasts. In a small bowl whisk together soy sauce, water, rice vinegar, brown sugar, honey, garlic, ginger and hot sauce. Pour sauce over chicken breasts. Place the lid on the pressure cooker and set to cook for 20 minutes (or according to manufacturer directions).

Release the pressure according to your cooker’s quick release instructions. In a small bowl, stir together the cornstarch and water, then add to the cooker. Switch the cooker to saute mode and simmer, stirring often, until thickened, about 2 minutes.

Garnish with diced green onions and sesame seeds if desired and serve over cooked rice.

This was a huge hit with The Hubs, Daughters 3 and 4 and me. I used some of the sauce as a marinade for green beans that I cooked and they were equally as delicious as the chicken. This will definitely make it into the lineup, and if I remember to take the chicken out the night before it will cut the cooking time by half!

I absolutely love having an electric pressure cooker, and think every household should have one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2016 in recipe, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
