RSS

Busy-ness of March

16 Mar
Busy-ness of March

When I recapped February I talked about how busy I had been. I have explained to several close friends and some of my family that when I say I have been busier this is what I mean. I was busier at work in January than I believe I was in the first 3-6 months of 2015. I was busier in February than I was in the month of January, and I was busier in the first 10 days of March than I was in January and February combined.

Yes, the Red Fire Monkey is working hard in my life! With that said, I still had time the first 2 weeks of the month to spend some amazing time in the kitchen. The three most exciting things I cooked were Beer Battered Chicken, Rattlesnake Eggs, and Falafel.

It had been a very long time since I had battered and deep-fried anything. I find when I am as busy as I was the first week and a half of March I want food that is unhealthy. I had some boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the fridge and a bottle (maybe 2) of beer. Chicken + beer = Beer Battered Chicken. I used a recipe my dad had created and perfected when I was a child. It takes no time to whip up, and the whole family loved it! I served our chicken with a side of mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. It was delish.

The first weekend of March The Hubs had to go out of town. Because of that I let Daughters 3 and 4 each have one sleepover guest Saturday night. After D4’s guest went home Sunday morning D3 and her guest asked if they could go “walk around”. We live in a rural town, population 1100. I couldn’t see much harm at 10 am on a Sunday of two 13 year old girls “walking around” town. I seized the opportunity for some one on one time with D4. I asked her if she wanted to help me make some Rattlesnake Eggs. Her initial reaction was priceless. There was no way this kid was going to eat a Rattlesnake Egg. Once I told her what we were going to cook, she was all for it. We made them together and ate them for brunch, with café con leche. It was all so good. Just in case you’re concerned about eating Rattlesnake Eggs, let me share the recipe!

Rattlesnake Eggs

  • 1 8-ounce package refrigerated crescent rolls
  • 1 8-ounce cream cheese, softened
  • 1 pound ground breakfast sausage (your choice, I use turkey), browned, drained, crumbled
  • Canned jalapenos, diced, to taste (I used about ½ Tablespoon)
  • Jalapeno juice, to taste (I used about 1 teaspoon)

Preheat the oven according to crescent rolls packaging. Combine the sausage, cream cheese, and jalapenos in a bowl. Open the ‘can’ of crescent rolls. Unroll each, placing a heaping Tablespoon of sausage mixture on the wide end of each. Pull the pointed corners in toward the middle and roll the crescent toward the thin end, forming an oval. Leave a small “tail” unrolled at the end. Place crescent roll eggs on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake according to crescent roll package directions, or until outside is lightly browned.

Daughter Number Four was delighted that she stuck it out and tried these frighteningly named goodies. I have a feeling she will be asking for them again!

My next big cooking creation was Falafel. I love Falafel and have since my first bite. I was feeling adventurous after making the Rattlesnake Eggs and made a batch of Garbanzo beans in my pressure cooker. I searched recipes for Falafel and made that for Sunday dinner. Assuming The Hubs and the Daughters 3 and 4 would not like Falafel I also made a small batch of homemade pizza. I could have just made the Falafel. It was so good, that The Hubs and I had it the following night ~ only I added some pickled veggies to the pita!falafel

I used a combination of a couple of recipes to make the Falafel. I’m excited to make it again to change a few things in the recipe and in the cooking.

I will say that the beginning of March has been a success in all areas, and I am looking forward to what the Red Fire Monkey and I have on the road ahead!

I hope you take the opportunity to make yourself some Rattlesnake Eggs ~ they are a tasty morsel!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2016 in recipe, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Busy-ness of March

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    March 16, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    I want to make falafel again, I think j need to experiment and combine a few to find a quick and easy one… And I love them inside a pita pocket!!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      March 16, 2016 at 1:36 pm

      I made my pita, too! We will have to share falafel recipes… And decide what works best! We can become the best falafel makers in the US!

       

Leave a Reply

 
