RSS

Life is Simple

02 Dec
Life is Simple

Now that November has passed and we are in the early days of December, I will share that my progress toward my goals did not make huge strides. I was so busy caregiving for my daughter that my goals were set aside.  http://ortsofsorts.com/2015/12/02/a-glimpse-into-me-november-recap/

I can proudly say that I paid off my car and worked on my mother’s porch area. It isn’t done, but we did get quite a few things done that took some stress off of her. I have managed to look professional (clothes, makeup, hair) every day that I needed to, including taking D2 to her appointments.

I have said this before, but I will say it again: the universe puts what we need to see, hear, experience in our paths when we need to see, hear, experience. I was feeling a little bit less than excited about the health and fitness goals. I was listening to a radio talk show and the guest was talking about losing weight. “It’s simple”, he said. The host balked at that. “You cut down on calories you take in, and expend more energy (burn more calories) by working out. Simple; not easy.” Wow. Isn’t that the truth? It is simple. It is not at all complicated. It takes effort, work, and discipline; which can be hard. I realized that is true of most things that we aren’t always successful in. Health and fitness, business, blogging, faith… all of these things can be looked at as having a simple similar success formula, but putting in the work with ongoing discipline can be hard. Once you have that “a-ha” moment where you realize that what you want to accomplish is simple and remind yourself of that it might just make that effort easier which in turn will build a practice of doing, which provides the discipline. Before you know it that thing which seemed so hard is now, not only simple, but easy.

Whatever goals you set out to achieve in 2015, no matter where you are on the journey to success right now, reevaluate them in the SMART goal system. Then, break them down even further if you need to, to see that the path is simple. I need to cut my intake, increase my burn / workout. Simple. Then, I need to do those things every single day. Commit to it. Not simple, but if I commit it will be easier.

How are you doing on your path to reach your 2015 goals? Is it time to re-evaluate and see how simple it is?

Life is simple; it’s just not easy. ~Anon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Life is Simple

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    December 3, 2015 at 7:29 am

    You are right. It is simple. We make it complicated. I make it complicated.

     
    • ortsofsorts

      December 3, 2015 at 7:32 am

      I love how the universe gives us the answers we need, when we need them. Hearing that on the radio was such an “a-ha” moment for me! I’ve used the KISS method for years, but did not apply it in this sense (Keep It Simple Sweetie).

       
  2. kimberlyharding

    December 4, 2015 at 10:53 am

    I really liked this posting, especially the first sentence of the third paragraph. I so agree with this!! Sometimes we dont’ WANT to see or hear something, but we NEED to see or hear it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
