RSS

Fried Mushrooms

02 Apr
Fried Mushrooms

It has been a busy end of Winter, beginning of Spring so I have not been doing quite as much cooking of new or fun foods. I also have to admit that I have been a little bit lazy on the healthy eating. So, I’m going to share a dinner that we had one day last week…as long as you promise not to judge. Really. No judging!

As I mentioned last September, we purchase a Fry Daddy to make homemade French fries for my mother on her anniversary. It has been seldom used and sits in a lower cabinet. The Hubs thought that French fries sounded great, and I knew that I had some fresh mushrooms in the fridge so told him that as long as we were getting it out, we might as well do a couple of things. He sliced up the potatoes and found a recipe for breaded fried mushrooms. I also decided that if we were going to do this thing we would do it with gusto! I also had some avocados  that I cut up and a can of large black olives that I thought would lend themselves to battering and deep frying. (You’re not judging, right?)

Growing up my dad learned how to make breaded fried mushrooms for my mother after she had some at a tavern. They always make me think of him.

Below is the recipe that we used for our insanely awesome mushrooms! They were some of the best I have ever had. The avocadoes were “ok”, the French fries were delightful, and the black olives were interesting. I would like to try them again, with maybe a filling for the middle of the olives. I’m thinking a spicy cheese mixture. (Judging?)

Deep Fried Mushrooms

  • 10 ounces whole mushrooms
  • ¾ cup all purpose flour
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup breadrumbs (my dad used cracker meal)
  • Oil for deep frying

Heat the oil in the deep fryer to 375 degrees. Wash the mushrooms and remove any woody stems. Pat mushrooms dry with a paper towel. Coat mushrooms with flour, lightly tap to remove excess flour. Dip in eggs. Coat with bread crumbs. Set aside to set the batter. Deep fry mushrooms in batches, turning if needed to cook evenly, 3-4 minutes or until golden brown.

Drain on paper towels or a rack and serve warm.

I definitely recommend trying these mushrooms if you are a fan of those little treats! I like to serve mine with Ranch dip or dressing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Fried Mushrooms

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    April 3, 2015 at 9:05 am

    I don’t do mushrooms, but I walked into mom and dad’s a few weeks ago and mom had fried some zucchini up and man have I missed that! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
