RSS

Guest Blogger – Egglplant Parmesan

04 Jun
Guest Blogger – Egglplant Parmesan

When I received the phone call from Daughter Number One that you will read about below, I did give one small condition: she would have to write about her experience. She came through with glowing colors. I hope you enjoy one of HER experiences with cooking as much as I did…

 

Last Thursday, after a great morning workout, I decided to head to the grocery store to stock my refrigerator with healthy foods. While walking through the produce department I saw the eggplant and remembered a delicious meal my mom made often when I lived at home, eggplant parmesan. I immediately called mom and asked her for the recipe. She explained that the original recipe was meant to be fried and that isn’t exactly healthy, so she adjusted the recipe to be healthier. It was a quick and easy meal to make. Not knowing if The Boyfriend was keen on eggplant, I decided to keep dinner a secret. He didn’t ask me a single question during the meal and finally I broke down and told him it was eggplant. His reply was that he already knew because he had snuck a peek into the fridge earlier and that he loves eggplant. Surprise! He also said it was a meal to make again soon!

Eggplant Parmesan

  • 1 eggplant, sliced
  • 4 egg whites, beaten
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 bag of shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Parmesan Cheese

Heat your oven to 450 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and set aside. Separate the eggs into a small bowl, and whisk the whites. Discard the yolks. In a medium bowl combine bread crumbs and Italian. In a separate bowl, pour both cans of tomato sauce and mix in garlic powder and set aside. Slice the eggplant into fairly thin slices, you don’t want them too thick or they won’t bake properly. Dip each slice in the egg whites, then into the bread crumbs. Make sure to get both sides of the slices coated thoroughly in the bread crumb mixture. After breading the eggplant, place each slice onto the baking sheet in neat rows. Spray with nonstick cooking spray. Bake at for 10 minutes, turn and then place them back in the oven for about 5 minutes longer. When the eggplant is crisp, remove it from the oven. Sprinkle each eggplant slice with mozzarella cheese and cover with a spoonful of the tomato sauce mixture. Sprinkle a small amount of parmesan cheese over the top of the sauce. Return the baking sheet into the oven for about 3 minutes to melt the cheese. Cool for about 5 minutes and serve.

I served the eggplant parmesan with a side of tortellini and used the remainder of the red sauce mixture over the top.

It was great to have a break from the writing this past week, and I love that Daughter Number One is starting to cook more, and that she is trying to make it healthy!

Enjoy!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2014 in recipe

 

4 responses to “Guest Blogger – Egglplant Parmesan

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    June 5, 2014 at 11:01 am

    Rock on Daughter No 1!! I love eggplant parm and love even more that she called, got the recipe and tried it out! Great guest post!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      June 5, 2014 at 11:24 am

      Thank you, Kate! I am so happy that my daughters are growing up to be amazing young women, but doubly glad that they still reach out to me for answers, help, and guidance!

       
  2. Mzunga

    June 16, 2014 at 1:43 am

    Great job daughter #1 as well as mom! Eggplant is one of those things I never liked very much until we moved to Africa, where it seems to be always available. So I’ve learned to use it, and eventually learned to love it. Now it’s a staple. Good for you guys to already love it when you have so many other choices! Boyfriend too!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      June 16, 2014 at 11:01 am

      I’m glad you have learned to love eggplant. Sometimes I think the old Kansas way of cooking / preparing foods was not always ‘the best’. I’m delighted to find new ways to cook foods and love to share my finds. It’s a double win that I cans share with my children and they can benefit, too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
