RSS

Slow Cooker Soups – Ravenwood Soup, Lentil Soup

23 Dec
Slow Cooker Soups – Ravenwood Soup, Lentil Soup

One of my favorite parts of winter, especially since I hate cold weather, is SOUP! I have had the good fortune already this ‘winter’ (although winter only officially started a couple of days ago, anytime the weather is hovering around freezing it’s ‘winter’) to make some big pots of soup.

Most recently, I made a soup that my mother introduced me to. I believe she was introduced to it at a work related retreat at a nearby hunting lodge. No, my mother is not a hunter, not does she work for a company who is in any way related to hunting. However, where we live that is one of the choices of meeting locations – a hunting lodge.  Turns out, they made a delicious soup! The name of the lodge is Ravenwood Lodge; so the soup is Ravenwood soup.

I love sharing food with friends and family, so thought that the week before Christmas would be a great time to take Ravenwood soup to the office to share. As I was assembling the ingredients on the counter the night before, The Hubs said, “Oh, it looks like someone has been very good.” I turned to see the gleam in his eye, and wasn’t sure I had it in me to tell him the truth. I did. “Well, this is for the girls at the office.” That gleam turned to sadness very quickly. “I do have enough to make enough for home, too – if you want,” I threw in quickly. The gleam returned, although not quite as brightly. He knew who had been really good and it obviously wasn’t him!

The girls at work were very happy to have some hot soup to eat for lunch on the first big icy day of the season. That evening the pot (slow cooker) I had on at home was looked at with 2 little upturned, turned up noses. Well, at least one upturned, two turned up noses! Once they saw how delicious the soup was they gobbled it up. They were also pleased to know there would be enough for lunch the next day. My mother was also quite pleased when I took her a little bowl for her lunch the next day…

The other soup that I made (last week) was a lentil soup. The noses were turned up at this one, too. Not really sure what lentils were the girls were skeptical at best. They decided that it was much better than they thought it would be, although Daughter Number Three informed me there was too much Thyme in the soup. As I started to agree, Daughter Number Four, always quick to spare hurt feelings informed her sister that all of the best foods take too much time. My husband agreed that she was absolutely correct. He and I gave reassuring glances to Daughter Number Three, who gave us a knowing smile.

I made both soups in the slow cooker. They both worked beautifully being cooked that way.

Ravenwood Soup

  • 3 pounds ground beef, browned and drained
  • ¼ cup onion, diced
  • 3 cans yellow corn
  • 3 cans red kidney beans
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can Ro-tel
  • 2 pounds Velveeta cheese

Brown the ground beef in a skillet. Add the onion to the ground beef during browning or sauté in the same skillet after the beef is browned. Add all ingredients, including juices of canned goods into the slow cooker – EXCEPT the Velveeta. Cook on low for 4-6 hours, adding the cheese about 30 minutes before serving. Cook on low for 30 minutes or until cheese is melted and soup is hot. Serve with tortilla chips. Optional garnish: sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, green onion

 

Lentil Soup

  • ¾ cup lentils, picked and rinsed
  • 3 carrots, peeled and coined
  • ½ cup chopped onion
  • 1 Tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable broth or stock
  • ½ cup red wine (or water)
  • ½ cup water (or more, see above)
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper

Add all ingredients into crock of slow cooker. Stir gently. Cook on low for 6-8 hours until lentils are soft. Turn slow cooker lid to the side for about 30 minutes to thicken broth, if desired. Serve with crusty French bread.

 

Both of these slow cooker soups are hearty, to warm you and yours on a cold day. The Ravenwood soup is terrific to take to a gathering, because it makes so much. It really is great for sharing! You might even want to print off a few copies of the recipe. I always get asked for it when I share this hearty soup.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2013 in recipe

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Soups – Ravenwood Soup, Lentil Soup

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    December 23, 2013 at 8:18 am

    I wonder if I could leave out the tomatoes. I can add the Rotel, but there is no way I can add the diced tomatoes – think I would need to add a little broth to compensate? Cause that looks so yummy!!!

    and really, love the Thyme/time comment! That’s just greatness!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      December 23, 2013 at 6:08 pm

      I think you could leave out the canned tomatoes with NO problem! I would actually like to add double Ro-tel or a can of green chilies. The Hubs can’t do all that spice, though. I don’t even know that you would need extra broth – it would just be a bit thicker!
      I was just glad that at 11, D3 didn’t spoil the beauty!
      Thanks a MIL!

       

Leave a Reply

 
