RSS

Roasted Chicken – Slow Cooker

11 Nov
Roasted Chicken – Slow Cooker

As you know I have become a huge fan of slow cooker cooking over these past few months. I especially love making ahead and freezing slow cooker meals, and then popping them in the slow cooker before work; returning home to dinner ready or nearly ready.

However, I have discovered a few downfalls to the slow cooker thing. One of the downfalls is that my newest slow cooker does not cook the potatoes at the same speed that it cooks everything else. That means that I either need to change the way I cut my potatoes or always use one of the older slow cookers if there are potatoes in a recipe. Another thing I have discovered is that cooking a whole chicken in the slow cooker makes it very mushy. I love to stew whole chickens on the stove top to make other recipes with, but not so much in the slow cooker. Also, there is no way to ‘oven roast’ a whole chicken in the slow cooker. Or is there?

I had discovered a ‘roasted’ chicken leg recipe for the slow cooker several months back and started wondering if I could do that same technique with a whole chicken. I tried it last week and “voila”! It worked! Everyone in the house just loved it! Even The Hubs… it was cooked to near perfection. It was similar to a rotisserie style chicken, instead of how I prepare an oven roasted chicken, but we were all thrilled with the outcome.

Here is what I did, literally taking the recipe for the chicken leg recipe and using it on the whole chicken. I did use my new slow cooker, because it is oval and not round. The shape lent itself nicely to the shape of the chicken.

Slow Cooker Roasted Chicken

  • 1 whole roasting chicken, 3-4 pounds
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon rosemary
  • ½ teaspoon onion powder
  • ½ teaspoon chili powder
  • ½ teaspoon thyme
  • ¼ teaspoon celery salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper

Remove the giblets from the chicken. Wash thoroughly inside and out. Pat dry with paper towel. Mix the spices together in a bowl. Rub the spice mixture over the chicken. Tuck the wings behind the chicken, and tie the legs together with cooking string. Loosely crumple up some aluminum foil and put it on the bottom of the slow cooker. Place the chicken on top of the foil. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. The chicken should not touch the bottom or sides of the slow cooker.

That’s it. That is all there is to it. It is easy and absolutely delicious.

This recipe doesn’t seem to be able to lend itself to the freezer to slow cooker idea, but it still does not take much time to prep before heading out the door to work, or staying in to work, or home schooling your children, or however you spend your very busy days.

I sincerely hope you try this one and that you enjoy this morsel as much as we did!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2013 in recipe

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
