RSS

Freezer to Slow Cooker – White Chicken Chili

06 Oct

 

I recently celebrated a birthday, and would you believe that I got a new CrockPot?! Yep. That makes three! Could I be more excited? Well, maybe. But it’s still awesome!

I am on week four of total slow cooker domination! Last week we only had one slow cooker meal. Life just didn’t seem to flow as smoothly as it did the previous three weeks when I had made all of the meals for the week ahead and had them ready in the freezer to whip out and toss into the slow cooker in the morning.

I only like to post the recipes that I’ve tried. I still have a few to share from weeks 1-3 and an amazing pork roast recipe from last week.

I will start with the recipe for White Chicken Chili. It is in my freezer right this minute waiting to be pulled out for dinner later this week. I made this in week 2 and again in week 3. It is just that good! My family is kind of picky and they ALL loved it! Week 3 I made it for my office, and they all loved it, too! This week I made it for the family again. This one was shared from Kate, http://didthatjusthappenblog.wordpress.com/ who got my hooked on this whole Freezer to Slow Cooker process! The original came from designwinedine.com.

White Chicken Chili

  • 1 ½ pounds uncooked chicken breast, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 2 – 15 ounce cans of white beans
  • 1 – 15 ounce can of white corn
  • 1 white or sweet onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic finely chopped
  • 1 package low sodium taco seasoning
  • 1 – 7 ounce can chopped green chilies
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup or Healthy Soup Substitute (http://ortsofsorts.com/2013/09/16/chicken-spaghetti-freezer-to-crockpot/)
  • 1 – 14 ounce can of low sodium chicken broth

Place all ingredients in a zippered freezer bag and mix gently. Press all the air out and lay flat in your freezer. Pull the bag out the night before you want to cook it. In the morning pour the contents into the slow cooker, cover, and cook on low for 8 hours or until the chicken is done. The original recipe calls to smash the chicken with a potato masher prior to serving. I did not smash my chicken.

Serve with sour cream, cilantro, chopped green onion, grated cheddar cheese, and tortilla chips.

With the weather cooling down this is a great recipe to make for the family, or share with a group! Sharing food is always a good thing to do! Especially when you own three slow cookers!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2013 in recipe

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Freezer to Slow Cooker – White Chicken Chili

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    October 7, 2013 at 8:27 am

    I do just love this recipe! It is so yummy!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      October 7, 2013 at 11:00 am

      Soooo yummy! Thanks a million!

       

Leave a Reply

 
