RSS

Freezer to Crockpot – 2 meals and a dessert!

23 Sep
Freezer to Crockpot – 2 meals and a dessert!

One of the family’s favorite of the “Freezer to Slow Cooker” (aka Crockpot) recipes was the Philly recipe. I served ours in hoagie style rolls. The Hubs taste tested them before I got home and told me that the recipe turned out so poorly he would have to eat it all, to save us from the pain. That is always a sign that he likes something.
It was easy to put together, and although Daughter Number 3 removed the onions and peppers from hers she told me that it was her absolute favorite. “I would even eat it for my birthday”, she said. Now, that is a huge compliment. We let the girls choose their birthday dinner every year – and she usually chooses Olive Garden!
I got the Philly (or Philly Cheese Steak as we are calling it) recipe from

http://www.mamainspired.com/2013/01/mass-crock-pot-dinners.html.
I also made the French Shredded Beef Recipe from that sight. We just had that tonight. We liked it, but not as much as the Philly Cheese!
Here are the recipes for both. I will obviously be making the Philly Cheese Steak recipe again. I’m not sure about the French Shredded Beef. If I do, I will alter some of the seasonings to better suit my family.
Philly Cheese Steak

  • 2 pounds cube steak, raw cut into strips
  • 1 red pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 8 ounces beef broth
  • Salt and Pepper

Add all of the ingredients to a freezer bag. Remove from the freezer 12-24 hours before cooking. Cook in slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours. Turn slow cooker to warm and top with provolone cheese for 30 minutes. Serve on sandwich rolls, hoagies, etc.
French Shredded Beef

  • 1 chuck roast (2.5-3 pounds)
  • 4 teaspoons homemade ranch seasoning (from mamainspired.com)
  • 1 teaspoon homemade Italian seasoning (from mamainspired.com)
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 16 ounces beef broth

Add all of the ingredients to a freezer bag. Remove from the freezer 12-24 hours before cooking. Cook in slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours. Serve on bread, with sliced Swiss or Provolone, and a side of au jus.
Well, after all our dinner of delicious Shredded French Beef sandwiches I had prepared a surprise dessert for the family. (It wasn’t a surprise for Daughter Number Four. She helped.) The other day The Hubs was saying how cool this new “Freezer to Slow Cooker” cooking was going. He gave me some much deserved props, and then said. “So, when do you start making ‘Freezer to Slow Cooker’ desserts?” I scoffed at him. Really? Are you serious with that? Of course that was in my head. Not out loud.
I sat down and started looking for slow cooker dessert recipes. I have not even attempted to look for “Freezer to Slow Cooker” dessert recipes, but I did find quite a few slow cooker cakes and puddings. I knew that this evening’s meal took no extra prep time, so I used that time to whip up the batter for a slow cooker cake. It went together in no time flat and ‘baked’ in the crockpot in just about 2 hours. Once the dinner dishes were done, dessert was ready! Below is where I found the recipe. It is definitely one I will make again!

http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2010/04/slow-cooker-peanut-butter-cup-cake.html

Slow Cooker Peanut Butter Cup Cake

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup boiling water

Use a 4-quart slow cooker coated well with cooking spray. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Melt peanut butter in the microwave, for about 30 seconds, and then add to the dry ingredients along with milk, oil, and vanilla. Stir well to combine. Spread this mixture into the bottom of your slow cooker.
In a separate bowl, mix together cocoa powder, the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar, and 1 cup boiling water. Pour this evenly over the peanut butter batter in your cooker.
Cover and cook on high for 2-4 hours, or until the top has set and an inserted toothpick (into the cake–underneath the cake is molten chocolate) comes out clean. Let the cake sit uncovered in an unplugged crockpot for about 20 minutes, then serve warm in bowls.

Did I say we liked it? I meant to say we REALLY liked it! Everyone needed a big glass of milk to go with it (except me; I don’t drink milk) and asked for seconds. I said yes to the milk, no to the seconds!
I am so glad that I tried the Slow Cooker dessert to finish off our Slow Cooker dinner! I hope you enjoyed these morsels and tidbits. We sure did!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2013 in recipe

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Freezer to Crockpot – 2 meals and a dessert!

  1. Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    September 23, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    I can’t wait to try that dessert!! I actually have two crock pots, and use them both all the time… But never at the same time! Wow!! What great research, I’m so excited!

     
    • ortsofsorts

      September 24, 2013 at 9:27 am

      I also have 2. I think I need a 3rd! I’m addicted!

       

Leave a Reply

 
