RSS

Memorial Day – Rocky Road and Easy Barbecue Chicken

28 May

The other day Daughter Number 2 needed to take a snack to a swim party she was going to. Of course, she didn’t tell me this until about 2 hours before she had to leave and had not taken it on herself to make something. So, I suggested making white popcorn. I have posted this recipe previously…it’s very easy to make. Unfortunately, we only had 1 bar of white bark. We had 5 brand new packages of chocolate bark plus 3 bars. So, I suggested that she do a little of both. She did. She melted them separately and poured them over separate parts of the popcorn then combined them when they had dried. She (of course) had to try a little before going to the party and said that it tasted like Rocky Road Ice Cream. That’s when the bells went off in my head! I would make Rocky Road Popcorn!

I didn’t have the want to make it right then, so I waited until today. It is Memorial Day and I had the day off from work and the kids are home because school’s out for summer…(insert music by Alice Cooper here).

The Hubs had gone off to do some work somewhere away from the house and Daughter Number 2 had gone to the local pool for a bit with some friends. That gave me the perfect opportunity to spend time with the little girls. I asked Daughter Number 3 to help me pick the kernels out of the bag of popped popcorn that I had poured onto the counter on waxed paper. I poured one block of chocolate bark and about ¼ cup of white chocolate chips (already melted) over the popped corn. We added in some “Mallow Bits” and Ice Cream nut topping (finely chopped peanuts and pecans) and let it harden. When it had dried (mostly) we put it into a bowl and then chowed down while we watched a movie. Daughter Number 4 said it was too sweet and hurt her tummy. She is not the sweet eater that some of us are. Daughter Number 3 and I went ahead and finished it all. It’s definitely something to keep in mind! We really enjoyed it.

Rocky Road Popcorn

I had decided at the onset of the weekend that I was not going to make any grand plans for the weekend. I had a long week at work last week, and a long (several) months and was so glad that I didn’t have to do anything on someone else’s schedule, especially Sunday and today.

As dinner time neared I started thinking about what we would be eating on this Memorial Day. I knew that the Hubs had been working in his office most of the day and the 93 degree heat did NOT lend itself to me wanting to go outside and grill. I still wanted to serve something that fit the day. So Daughter Number 2 and I together decided on a menu of barbecue chicken on buns, coleslaw, corn-on-the cob and fresh strawberries. Oh, and she wanted vanilla pudding. I didn’t make my own coleslaw, but bought the shredded cabbage and a jar of coleslaw dressing. The corn was already shucked and cleaned from earlier in the week. All I really had to do was cook the chicken, shred it, sauce it, and serve it! Oh, and clean some strawberries. Such an easy meal but the girls all really enjoyed it. It was a little different than what I normally cook and it still had that summer feeling. I realize that anyone who reads this expecting a recipe for real barbecue is going to be disappointed and maybe a little bit annoyed with me. Trust me. I know the difference between grilled and smoked (barbequed) and throwing some sauce in with some meat (barbecue).

Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches

  • 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Water
  • Buns

Thoroughly wash chicken breasts and place them in a large sauce pan or dutch oven. Cover with water and cook on medium low until cooked through. Drain water off of chicken and cool slightly. Using two forks, shred chicken. Add barbecue sauce and a little water and cook over medium low heat, continuing to shred until all chicken is finely shredded and coated with sauce. Serve on buns.

 Sometimes I use barbecue sauce that I buy at the grocery store. I don’t have any allegiance to a particular brand. Sometimes I make my own. Barbecue sauce at its root is tomato paste or puree, although many people start with ketchup. That’s what I used tonight. Then vinegar is added. I like using cider vinegar to make my barbecue sauce. A sweetener is then added, like brown sugar or molasses. I chose molasses tonight. I also used a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder, and liquid smoke. At 9 and 7 Daughters 3 and 4 are not connoisseurs of barbecue sauce and Daughter Number 2 can’t eat barbecue so she had no critiques. Daughter Number 4 said the sauce was very tangy. This is strange, considering I added very little vinegar and almost half as much water as sauce. Well, she is 7… 

I hope that everyone else has kicked off summer with some lovely summer fare or time outside. Most of all I hope that everyone has taken a moment to remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice protecting our freedom as Americans with their lives, the fallen members of the United States Armed Forces.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
