RSS

Calzones

27 May

After my success with pizza the other night, I decided to try my hand at Calzones. I used the same pizza dough recipe and many of the same ingredients that I had used for the pizzas. Because the girls only like cheese, that was easy. I made one big Ricotta and mozzarella calzone. Daughter number 2 was at a pool party so we didn’t have to make dinner around her eating ability. The toppings on our pizza were so good the other night I decided to use very similar filling for our Calzones. I sautéed some chopped onion in olive oil and then added some frozen spinach. When the veggies were cooked through I finely chopped and added some of the chicken breast I had marinated and cooked previously. I cooked that until it was warmed through. I included mozzarella, Ricotta, and Parmigiano Reggiano in the filling, too. It was a tasty combination!

Chicken and Spinach Calzone

The girls had never had Calzones and were kind of intrigued on the process. When I was making them they of course thought I was making pizza. They were really excited to try them. They were not disappointed. The ooey gooey cheese was not only delicious, but they had fun stringing it out of the calzones and seeing how far it would stretch. Fun with food!

I asked the hubs for his input after he had eaten half of one. In his opinion he thought I should have made more of them. I only made three…

Here is the “technique” that I used to make my calzones.

I used half of the Pizza Dough recipe that I had previously halved from Jamie Oliver’s Pizza Dough recipe.

 

  • ½ Pizza Dough Recipe
  • Pizza Sauce
  • Mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • Ricotta Cheese
  • Parmigiano Regianno
  • 1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • Onion, diced
  • Spinach, frozen
  • Cooked chicken breast, diced
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon Garlic powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Onion powder
  • ½ Tablespoon Italian Seasoning

 Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place pizza stone on lowest rack of oven and cover lightly with corn meal. Sauté onions in a large skillet in olive oil until translucent. Add spinach and cook until soft and heated through. Add cooked chicken breast and heat through. Remove from heat. Mix together Ricotta and Mozzarella. In a small bowl, mix together garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian Seasoning. Set aside. The amount of cheese is dependant on how many calzones you are making and how cheesy you want them. Using 1/3 to ½ of this dough recipe (depending on the size of calzone you want) roll it out into a circle, just as you would if you were making a pizza. Lightly spread sauce on the entire circle, leaving about ¼ inch edge for folding. Lay fillings on half of the dough, again leaving about ¼ inch edge. Fold the unfilled side of the dough over the filling. Leave a small amount of the bottom crust showing. Brush beaten egg on the edge of the dough on the side with the filling. Fold the unfilled side of the dough over the filling. Leave about 1/8 inch of the bottom dough showing. Fold the bottom edge of the dough that is showing over the top, pressing to seal. Use a fork to crimp the edge together. Brush the top with beaten egg. Lightly sprinkle garlic powder mixture over the top. Place calzone on a small piece of parchment paper. Place onto preheated pizza stone. Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden brown and crisp. Remove from pizza stone and allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before serving. The filling will be extremely hot.

We gobbled these up! They were so delicious that I almost want to make them again today. Ooooh, or I can whip up something else! The excitement of it is almost more than I can stand!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
