RSS

Crab Legs!

23 Apr

In the first few months of 2012 I have already made some things that I had put off previously because I thought they would be hard. Like crab legs. I had no idea how to cook crab legs. None. I have now made them twice this year and DAMN are they easy! They were so easy the first time, I made them again! Let me just say that if you can boil water you can make crab legs.

The first time I made them I steamed them. They were pretty good. We (the Hubs, daughter number 4, and I) liked them. Daughter number 3 doesn’t really like seafood so that was going to be a stretch for her no matter what. I’m actually not sure that daughter number 2 was home either time. Hmmmmm. Oh, the life of a teenager…

The second time I boiled them. We liked them much better….

Also, the second time I cooked them I really tried to find side dishes that would work well. I chose twice baked potatoes and deviled eggs. They were both winners with everyone.

The deviled eggs were just a very basic, old-fashioned deviled egg. Mashed yolks, a little bit of white vinegar, mustard and (plenty of) mayonnaise. So yummy!

The twice baked potatoes were also very simple. The first bake was actually done in the microwave. When they were done I let them cool a bit and scooped out the middles into a bowl. I added sour cream, grated sharp cheddar and some green onion. I let the 2 youngest girls help me with the eggs and potatoes. They are very similar in putting together. Cut in half, scoop out the middles, add some stuff and put the middles back in to the outsides!

I re-baked the potatoes in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

This entire dinner was so quick and easy that I’m almost embarrassed! It was over the top delicious and took less than an hour start to finish to prepare!

I am definitely going to keep making things that I was unsure about or afraid to try in the past. They have all turned out wonderfully! I guess that should be a lesson in life, as well as cooking. Don’t NOT do something because you THINK it might be hard! We don’t really know until we try…

I think I’ll go to the kitchen and make something new!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
