RSS

Hunger Games Muffins

23 Mar

I have been promising some of my co-workers that I would bake some muffins for them. Most of my baking is for the girls school functions, fundraisers, or for the family. They just get to hear about it.

So, this morning I decided to bake some muffins for my co-workers. My mom bought me a “muffin top” pan last weekend and I have not had the time to use it yet. Not to mention, the movie “The Hunger Games” opened last night at theaters and people all over Facebook keep talking about it. Not that it makes me want to go see the movie or read the books, but it is making me hungry.

This morning I played some Hunger Games of my own and baked up some muffin tops, mini-muffins, and regular muffins. These have no basis on the books or the movie.

The first batch I made was an adaptation from http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/3437/chocolate-chip-yogurt-muffins.

I was looking for a good chocolate breakfast muffin, but didn’t want it to be too chocolaty or too sweet. This recipe lent itself to my adaptations. They were a little dry, but the overall consensus was good.

Chocolate Yogurt Muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 8 ounces plain non-fat yogurt
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease the cups of a muffin tin or line cups with paper liners. Combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, brown sugar and chocolate chips in a large bowl with a whisk.  In a smaller bowl mix together eggs, yogurt, butter and vanilla. Add yogurt mixture to the dry ingredients. Stir just until moistened. Bake 15-18 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack for about 5 minutes. Remove from pan to cool completely.

I made these into muffin tops and mini-muffins.

The next batch that I made was primarily so that I could use up some fresh blueberries that I had, and some old bananas. I found a recipe that sounded wonderful. I didn’t even need to make any adaptations! I made muffin tops and regular muffins with them. They are gorgeous! I will definitely make these again! http://www.bakerella.com/paper-pans/

I hope you enjoy both recipes. Now, I guess I had better start reading those books. I hear one of the main characters is a baker. I can definitely relate to that!

Stay Hungry my friends!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
