RSS

Bierocks

13 Mar

So, the Bierocks did get made, although not entirely by me. I was busy running around and catching up and, well – you get it. Back to the normal busy life. I had to run up to the school to pick up daughter number 2 and as I was leaving I asked the Hubs if he would mind making up the insides for the Bierocks while I was gone. I told him I would make the dough and finish up when I got home. I opened up the cookbook that my parents had made for all of their children about 20 years ago with all of our favorite recipes. I’m not sure as children this was a favorite, but it was one that they made. My father’s parents lived inWilson,Kansasfor a number of years, and they have a large Czech population. Bierocks, as I understand it, is a Czechoslovakian food. (Not German, as many people believe). My parents got this recipe during that time.

When I got home from picking up Daughter Number 2, the hubs was making some bread dough. So, although the recipe I am providing for you is the recipe that I grew up with, he used a different bread dough recipe. He actually used more of a sweet roll dough. The girls loved the taste, but it was definitely harder to roll out and form around the meat, cabbage mixture!

 

Bierocks

  • 1½   pounds lean ground beef
  • 4 cups food proccessered cabbage
  • 2 large onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 recipe basic Italian bread dough (pizza dough)

Brown beef (adding oil if necessary) in a dutch oven. Add cabbage, onion, salt and pepper. Simmer until cabbage is done. Roll half of bread dough to ¼ inch or so thick. Cut into 6- to 8-inch squares. Put ¼ cup or so of turkey mixture in center of each. Bring corners up over filling to center, press edge seams together, turn over onto greased baking sheet. Bake 20 minutes at 350°, or until browned.

Basic Italian Dough – Pizza Dough

  • 6 cups flour
  • 2 packages dry yeast
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 cups warm water

Put 2 or 3 cups of flour into a large mixing bowl.  Add yeast and salt and mix well. Add water and stir to blend, then beat 200 strokes by hand or 2 or 3 minutes with an electric mixer.  Stir in more flour, a cup or less at a time, until a medium dough is formed that will pull away from bowl. 

I have tried Bierocks that have other things in them – including carrots and green pepper. I have eaten them covered in gravy. This recipe is the one that I like the most. I usually have mine with grainy mustard. I also serve them with applesauce. Seems a good combination to me.

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
