RSS

World Nutella Day muffins

05 Feb

Wow. This weekend has been busy. I’ve spent time with family, and done some cooking. Oh, and disinfected the house due to the still lingering and maligning nastiness that has decided to inhabit the hubs this weekend! You know, with little ones, the germs just get passed around…

Yesterday morning I got up and made Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins to send with daughter number 2 for the Forensics tournament. Daughter number 1 was coming in to town to judge at the tournament so I was planning on cooking dinner for her and her boyfriend, who came with her.

During the 2 little girls games the hubs started feeling a little less than healthy. By the end of it, it was a good thing we live close to the gym! I had to cancel the plans for dinner…but did NOT want to get the others sick.

I did get to spend some time with them at my mother’s house, which was great!

Due to all of the illness still ongoing, I didn’t make dinner for the family. I bought some broth and flavored water. Mmmmm.

My parents were the greeters at church today. The greeters have to bring a certain number of snacks for the fellowship after church. I had told mother that I would bake some muffins for her. She thought mini-muffins would be the best. So this morning I got up and made some apple muffins. I left the pecans out of the topping. I don’t want any nut allergy issues! I only made 2 dozen mini-muffins, so I put the rest of the muffin batter into my little donut pan. They were fun, and tasted amazing. I will probably make more muffin donuts in the future! Mufinuts?

I had promised daughter number 4, who missed 2 days of school last week sick, that I would bake a banana cake. So, we baked a banana cake!

Also, since it was World Nutella Day today I had promised myself that I would make something spectacular with Nutella! I decided to make Nutella muffins. I looked for a recipe that I liked but didn’t find one, so I made these. They were a HUGE hit with the kids and the hubs! I’m not sure all of them should have eaten them with the lingering tummy troubles, however! I had one with some Nutella hot chocolate. Oh, yeah!

Nutella Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, plus some for sprinkling
  • ½ cup Nutella
  • 1 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup egg substitute

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease the cups of a muffin pan, or line with paper liners.  Mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and 3/4 cup chocolate chips into a large bowl.  Whisk together the Nutella, milk, vegetable oil, and egg substitute.  Pour the milk mixture into the dry ingredients and mix together.  Fill the muffin cups 2/3 of the way full. Sprinkle a few chocolate chips on top of each muffin and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

I was really pleased with how the muffins came out.

For dinner I made a very tummy friendly supper of baked chicken and mashed potatoes. I accompanied it with lima beans. The chicken was good, but I overbaked it just a bit. I will be more mindful of that the next time. The bland and light dinner did seem to work. I had frosted the banana cake with a vegan cream cheese frosting (made with non-dairy cream cheese) and we enjoyed that for dessert. I am glad that I tried the non-dairy cream cheese. I won’t have to again!

I adapted my chicken recipe from tasteofhome.com. http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Light-Butter-Roasted-Chicken

I didn’t use the same herbs and spices. I really liked the light lemon flavor. It was not overwhelming at all.

It was such a busy weekend of family and food, that I am looking forward to work tomorrow. I sure hope everyone is healthy and ready for school. My poor hands need a break from all of the disinfecting!

I hope you enjoy the Nutella Muffins as much as we did. Next year I guarantee I will have created more amazing Nutella treats. Who am I kidding? I will not be waiting a whole year!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
