RSS

Chicken Marsala, lightened up

16 Jan

Saturday was one of the busiest days I have had in a long time. The two little girls had basketballs games in the morning (one cheered and one played). Daughter number 2 is the coach for the little girls cheer squad, so it was a family day. My usual Saturday morning routine is housework and menu planning, but since the hubs and I had tickets to a late afternoon KU basketball game, we had to roll out of town as soon as daughter number 3 had finished her game. After the KU game (we beatIowaState) we stopped at the merc, a community food co-op inLawrence, for coffee and a snack. The hubs wanted to try the vegan carrot cake, and I am so glad he did. I will be finding a recipe and making it in the near future!

So, Sunday had to be the housework day. I realized that I needed some big bins or something to store some of my not yet put away Christmas decorations. So, the hubs and I decided to make a quick drive to the closest store that sells tubs and bins as well as groceries so we didn’t have to drive all over. This sounds hilarious in retrospect, given the rest of the adventure! On the way to the store, which is about 17 miles from our house, I mentioned to the hubs that I really liked many aspects of the Chicken Francese I had made several weeks ago from a recipe on Skinnytaste.com. The girls thought the lemon was too overpowering, but the chicken itself was superb. I wondered out loud if I could just change up the wine and replace the lemon with mushrooms for Chicken Marsala. He thought that sounded like a great idea. I mentioned how good it would be if we could get some cremini mushrooms at the merc, and a bottle ofMarsalaat a certainLawrenceliquor store. Then I remembered that my mother had been trying to track down a specific kind of beer that she couldn’t find locally. That settled it. We drove the extra 20 miles toLawrence. Our first stop was the merc, for coffee, regular carrot cake (he wanted to compare) and mushrooms. Then we went to Cork and Barrel where (insert hallelujah chorus) I found the Anchor Steam for my mother and picked up a bottle ofMarsala. Then we went to an all inclusive store (not the same one we had set out for) and picked up the big tubs, some stuff to fix a bike tire and the chicken and other ingredients for dinner. It was a great day for a drive and we had a good time with the two little girls.

It felt good to be back in the kitchen, after having not cooked for the better part of a week. I prepped the mushrooms and some fresh green beans that I had picked up for a side. I trimmed and pounded my chicken breasts, and got to creating. The flavor was very good. My only negative is that my sauce didn’t thicken up enough. I will work on that the next time…

I served the chicken over angel hair pasta with a side of oven roasted green beans.

Here is my recipe for Lightened Up Chicken Marsala, and for quick roasted green beans!

 

Lightened Up Chicken Marsala

  • 4 chicken breasts, butterflied and pounded
  • ½ cup egg whites, beaten
  • ¼ cup all purpose flour
  • Sea salt
  • Coarse ground black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon light olive oil
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 8 ounces cremini mushrooms, stemmed and halved
  • ½ cupMarsala wine
  • ½ cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

 

Butterfly and/or pound your chicken breasts to about ¼” thickness. Place the flour, salt and pepper in a shallow dish. Mix with a fork. Put the egg whites in a separate shallow dish and beat. Spray a large nonstick skillet with spray. Put on medium high heat. When it is hot, add the olive oil.

Lightly dredge the chicken breasts in the flour. Shake off any excess. Dip in the egg white, letting excess drain off. Place in the hot skillet. Fry the chicken for 3-5 minutes per side, until golden brown and cooked through. This can be done in batches to ensure even and thorough cooking. When the chicken is done remove to a platter to keep warm. Do not stack.

Lower the heat to medium. Add the mushrooms to the skillet and sauté for about 5 minutes until golden brown. Add theMarsalato the pan and boil for several seconds, to cook out the alcohol. Add the chicken broth, reduce heat to simmer, and cook until sauce starts to thicken. Add the butter, and stir until melted. Return the chicken to the pan. Simmer gently for a few minutes to reheat the chicken.

Serve immediately over your favorite pasta.

Nutrition: Calories 205205, Total Fat 8.6g8.6, Saturated Fat 2.8g2.8 Cholesterol 71mg, Sodium 220mg, Carbohydrates 5.8g, 220 5.8Dietary Fiber 0.2g0.2, Sugars 0.7g, Protein 23.7g, Vitamin A 3%, Vitamin C 4%, Calcium 1%, Iron 6%

 Oven Roasted Green Beans

  • 1 ½ pounds fresh green beans
  • ½ Tablespoon light olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Dark brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon reduced sodium soy sauce
  • Sea salt
  • Black Pepper

Position oven rack to middle position. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Snap the ends off of the beans. Put the snapped beans in a medium sized glass or metal pan. Add brown sugar, salt, pepper, soy sauce and olive oil to the pan. Stir gently with a rubber spatula to coat. Pour beans and coating onto a baking sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes until the beans start to shrivel and brown. I shake them about half way through cooking time, to redistribute the seasoning.

This meal was a nice change of pace, and went over very well for 4 out of 5 of my diners! I will definitely make the Chicken Marsala again. I may continue to try lowering the fat content…but think this is a great start!

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
