RSS

Memorable Brownies

20 Dec

My life is filled with memories of cooking and baking.  These memories start in my earliest memories of childhood, helping my parents in the kitchen.  The first recipe that I ever memorized, and made by myself was Brownies.  I was 5 or 6 and, with supervision of my mother, I made “our” brownie recipe.  I also baked this recipe with my father.  It is this brownie recipe that I chose to put in our Sunday School cookbook in 1976.  It is a very straight forward Brownie recipe that my mother got out of the Betty Crocker Cooky Book.  When I was little I used to thumb through every page vowing that “one day” I would make every recipe in the book.  I have not.

My mother still has the Betty Crocker Cooky Book and the “brownie pan” that I used to bake my brownies in.  I thumbed through the book yesterday morning when I was having coffee with my mother.  It is listed on the page of “The Best Cooky of 1920-1930”.  I don’t know if it really was the best “cooky” of the Roaring ‘20’s, but I do know it is one of the best memories of baking that I have.

 

 

 

 

 

Cocoa Brownies

½ cup shortening

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup cocoa powder

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup chopped walnuts

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix shortening, sugar, eggs and vanilla until well blended.  Blend dry ingredients; mix in.  Stir in nuts.  Spread in well-greased 8x8x2 inch pan.  Bake about 30 minutes.  Cool; cut in 2 inch squares.

Makes 16 brownies.

 

I think I will go throw on some Bessie Smith and make these with my girls!  Have a Roaring good day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
