RSS

Hello World!

18 Dec

Let me start by giving you some background on the name of my blog, “Orts of Sorts”.   Orts are scraps or crumbs; morsels leftover after a meal.  My father was a journalist for most of my rememberable lifetime.  During my teen years he was the Food Editor of The Topeka Capital-Journal.  He wrote a column called “Orts of Sorts”, in which he talked a great deal about food, but often times wrote ramblings about life.  That is exactly what I plan to do with this blog.  I love food and love to bake.  My entire life it seems has included cooking, baking, eating and talking about food.  I want to share my love of food (especially baking) with you, and I will probably interweave some ramblings about life.

Let me introduce myself.  I live in the same small town that I grew up in.  I live just three blocks from the house I grew up in, where my parents have lived since 1972.  I chose to move back to the little town in Kansas to raise my 4 daughters.  I am blessed to be able to see my parents every day.  I don’t really know the population, because the sign at the edge of town has said 1100 since I knew how to read.  The house I grew up in, with my three brothers, was often filled with the smells of homemade food.  My parents were both fond of cooking and everything they made was made from scratch.  I never saw boxed cake mixes or convenience foods until I was in high school, and then they were not in my home.  I still try to cook and bake from scratch using few mixes or convenience foods.  There are so many reasons I cook and bake from scratch.  First, it gives me a sense of pride and accomplishment.  Second, it allows me to have more control over the health aspect of what I am creating.  It is important to me to provide healthy foods for my family.  Third, the taste of homemade food far surpasses the taste of mixes and prepackaged convenience foods.  I have found that the cost of cooking from scratch can be less expensive, too.  Really.

I hope you enjoy being a part of the ramblings and morsels that make up my life!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Hello World!

  1. merle edwin semwa

    January 1, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    I haven’t read all the way through, but they’re well done and in places recognizable.

     

Leave a Reply

 
